7 Best Spark Plugs For 2015 Toyota Rav4

Updated September 2026. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Buying through these links costs you nothing extra.

Cold starts that stumble, a rough idle at the lights, fuel economy sliding a mile or two per gallon — worn plugs cause all three, and they are the cheapest thing to rule out.

The best spark plugs for the 2015 Toyota RAV4 2.5L, for most drivers, are the DENSO Iridium TT: a twin-tip electrode, a 0.040 in preset gap that sits inside Toyota’s own range, and DENSO testing past 100,000 miles. Spending as little as possible? The SHUJI SK16HR11 carries the factory part number.

Every pick was checked against manufacturer specs, Toyota’s published gap and torque figures, and owner reports from RAV4 forums — no invented testing.

Spark Plugs for the 2015 Toyota RAV4 Compared

Product Best for Preset gap Center electrode Rated service life
Product Image
Mid-range
Everyday driving, fit once 0.040 in 0.4 mm iridium, 0.7 mm platinum ground Tested beyond 100,000 mi
Product Image
Mid-range
The longest gap between tune-ups 0.044 in Fine-wire iridium, OE-equivalent 120,000 mi OE recommended
Product Image
Budget
The factory number for the least money Not stated by seller Iridium, OE SK16HR11 pattern Not published
Product Image
Premium
The newest electrode technology 0.044 in Ruthenium alloy, high-ignitability design Not published
Product Image
Budget
Sharper throttle feel, lower outlay 0.044 in 0.6 mm fine-wire iridium, nickel ground 40,000–60,000 mi
Product Image
Mid-range
Spirited driving on a stock engine 0.044 in 0.4 mm iridium alloy, U-groove ground 40,000–60,000 mi
Product Image
Mid-range
Putting the factory-spec plug back in 0.044 in 0.4 mm iridium (90% Ir), platinum ground strap Up to 120,000 mi

[Amazon Products Picked for You]

Best Spark Plugs for the 2015 Toyota RAV4: Our Top Picks

Best overall
DENSO Iridium TT
Twin-tip spark, factory-range gap, and DENSO testing past 100,000 miles.
Best value
SHUJI SK16HR11
The factory part number without the brand-name premium.
Premium pick
NGK Ruthenium HX
NGK’s newest electrode alloy, built for heat and durability.

[Amazon Products Picked for You]

1. DENSO Iridium TT

Best overall
DENSO Iridium TT Spark Plugs (4 pc)

Bottom line: The twin-tip design gives the 2.5L a less shrouded spark, and the 0.040 in preset gap lands inside Toyota’s factory range. This is the set for owners who want to do the job once and stop thinking about it.

  • Fitment: Toyota RAV4 2.5L L4, 2009–2017, drops in with no adapters
  • Preset gap: 0.040 in, inside Toyota’s 1.0–1.1 mm new-plug spec
  • Center electrode: 0.4 mm iridium with 0.7 mm platinum ground, both tips resist erosion
  • Rated service life: tested beyond 100,000 miles, close to Toyota’s plug interval

Twin-Tip answers a simple problem: the ground electrode blocks part of the flame every time the plug fires. Shrinking both tips — 0.4 mm of iridium on the center, 0.7 mm of platinum on the ground — leaves the flame more room to spread. That is what you feel on a cold morning when a tired plug would stumble.

The gap is the detail buyers get wrong. Toyota specs 1.0–1.1 mm (0.039–0.043 in) for a new plug on the 2AR-FE, so 0.040 in is correct out of the box. No gapping tool, and no risk of snapping an iridium tip trying to open it up.

DENSO rates the TT past 100,000 miles on the strength of its 360-degree laser-welded tip, which puts it in the same territory as Toyota’s own 120,000-mile plug service point. For a stock 2.5L, that is the whole argument.

Pros
  • Twin-tip design clears the flame path, which helps most at cold start and idle
  • Preset 0.040 in gap sits inside Toyota’s spec, so nothing needs adjusting
  • 360-degree laser-welded tip is what the beyond-100,000-mile rating rests on
  • Listed for the 2.5L L4 from 2009 to 2017, including the 2016 hybrid
Cons
  • Sits above the OE-number plugs lower down this list on price, for a design Toyota did not fit
  • DENSO’s spark plug warranty runs 12 months or 12,000 miles, well short of the plug’s rated life
Sentiment Analysis Chart
Best for: Daily drivers who want the strongest cold-start and idle behavior from one plug change.
Skip it if: You want exactly what came out of the engine — the Iridium Long Life further down is that family.
Check first: These ship at 0.040 in, not 0.044 in. That is inside Toyota’s range, and Toyota tells owners not to adjust the gap on iridium plugs, so leave it alone.
See today’s price, delivery date and return policy on Amazon.

2. NGK Laser Iridium

Longest service interval
NGK Laser Iridium Spark Plugs (4 pc)

Bottom line: An OE-equivalent plug with the longest published interval here — 120,000 miles — which is exactly where Toyota schedules plug replacement on the RAV4.

  • Fitment: Toyota RAV4 2.5L L4, 2009–2018, listed as a direct OE-equivalent replacement
  • Preset gap: 0.044 in, nothing to set before installation
  • Center electrode: fine-wire iridium with a platinum ground pad, NGK’s long-life build
  • Rated service life: 120,000 miles OE recommended, the longest figure on this list

Laser Iridium is the line NGK builds for factory fitment rather than the accessory aisle, and the interval on it matches Toyota’s own schedule for the RAV4: 120,000 miles or 144 months. Fit a set at a plug change and the next one is somebody else’s problem.

Day to day you give up nothing. Fine-wire iridium resists gap growth as the electrode wears, so the coil is not asked for more voltage every year. On a 2.5L that shows up as cold starts and an idle that stay the same years after the plugs went in.

Pros
  • 120,000-mile OE-recommended interval, matching Toyota’s 120,000-mile service point
  • OE-equivalent design, so it behaves like a factory plug rather than a performance part
  • Preset 0.044 in gap and a four-pack that does the whole engine in one job
  • Covers 2009 through 2018 2.5L L4 models, so the part carries over if you change RAV4s
Cons
  • The listing does not name the NGK stock number, so you cannot cross-check the part before ordering
  • Costs more per plug than the OE-number option lower down, for the same 2.5L fitment
Sentiment Analysis Chart
Best for: Owners keeping the RAV4 long term who want one plug change and a number they can point at.
Skip it if: You are chasing throttle feel rather than interval — the IX and Iridium Power lines are the performance-leaning ones.
Check first: The pack is sold by vehicle fit, not by stock number. Write down the number printed on the plugs when they arrive so the next set matches.
See today’s price, delivery date and return policy on Amazon.

3. SHUJI SK16HR11

Best value
SHUJI SK16HR11 Iridium (4-Pack)

Bottom line: The factory service number — SK16HR11, Toyota 90919-01233 — at the lowest outlay here. The trade-off is that you are trusting an unbranded maker to hit the OE spec.

  • Fitment: Toyota Camry 2.5L 2010–2017 and RAV4 2.5L 2010–2018, sold as a four-pack
  • Preset gap: not stated by the seller; the OE SK16HR11 ships at 1.1 mm
  • Center electrode: iridium with a ceramic insulator, on the OE SK16HR11 pattern
  • Rated service life: not published; the plug it copies is a long-life design

SK16HR11 is the plug Toyota specified for the 2AR-FE, sold at the parts counter as 90919-01233 and by DENSO as its Iridium Long Life. This pack carries the same service number, so reach, thread and heat range are not in question — it seats where the originals did.

What you are buying is the specification, not a brand. On a 2015 RAV4 you plan to keep, that is a fair trade, and a one-year warranty sits behind it. It is still worth ten minutes with a gap gauge and a close look at each tip before they go in.

The reason is not this seller in particular. Counterfeit iridium plugs carrying Toyota and DENSO numbers are a documented problem, and both DENSO and NGK publish guides for spotting them — machined rather than laser-welded tips, cutting marks on the shell, gaps out of spec. Five minutes of checking protects an aluminum cylinder head.

Pros
  • Carries the OE service number, so fitment on the 2.5L is not a question
  • Iridium center electrode and ceramic insulator on the factory pattern
  • Backed by a one-year warranty, unusual at this end of the market
  • The least expensive way on this list to do all four cylinders at once
Cons
  • Unbranded, so there is no manufacturer spec sheet or published service interval behind it
  • OE-number plugs are a known counterfeit target, so the tips and gaps need checking before fitting
Sentiment Analysis Chart
Best for: Owners who want factory fitment for the least money and are happy to inspect what arrives.
Skip it if: You want a manufacturer spec sheet and a published interval behind the plug.
Check first: Compare all four against each other — even gaps, a neatly welded iridium tip, clean threads — and against DENSO’s published guide to spotting fakes, since this is the OE part number.
See today’s price, delivery date and return policy on Amazon.

4. NGK Ruthenium HX

Premium pick
NGK Ruthenium HX (4-Pack)

Bottom line: NGK’s newest electrode alloy, aimed at holding a consistent spark under heat longer than iridium or platinum. The premium option here, and priced like it.

  • Fitment: Toyota RAV4 2.5L L4, 2009–2018, genuine NGK parts in original packaging
  • Preset gap: 0.044 in, ready to install
  • Center electrode: ruthenium alloy, NGK’s high-ignitability design
  • Rated service life: not published; NGK positions the line as its longest-lasting aftermarket plug

Ruthenium HX is the newest thing in this roundup by a distance. NGK’s argument is that ruthenium copes with heat better than the precious metals it used before, which is the limit on plug life in engines making more power on less fuel. The company calls the line its highest-performing and longest-lasting aftermarket range.

On a naturally aspirated 2.5L that is more headroom than the engine asks for, and it is fairer to say so. What you feel in the first week is what any fresh precious-metal plug gives you: clean cold starts, a steady idle, no hesitation off the line. The case for paying more sits in the back half of the plug’s life.

Pros
  • Ruthenium alloy center electrode, the newest precious-metal design NGK sells
  • Genuine NGK parts with original packaging and hardware, listed as a direct replacement
  • Preset 0.044 in gap and a four-pack that covers the whole engine
  • Designed for high-ignitability starts, which is where a tired plug shows its age first
Cons
  • The priciest set here, for a benefit you will not notice in the first year
  • NGK publishes no mileage interval for this line, so the longevity case is a claim rather than a number
Sentiment Analysis Chart
Best for: Owners who buy the newest technology on principle and keep their cars a long time.
Skip it if: Cost per mile matters more than electrode material — the OE-style plugs cover the same fitment for much less.
Check first: NGK aims this range at modern high-output engines. On a stock 2AR-FE you are buying durability, not extra power.
See today’s price, delivery date and return policy on Amazon.

5. NGK Iridium IX

Best throttle response
NGK Iridium IX (4-Pack)

Bottom line: A fine-wire performance plug with a 0.6 mm iridium tip. Sharper off idle than an OE plug, at the cost of the shortest service life in this roundup.

  • Fitment: Toyota RAV4 2.5L L4, 2009–2018, four-pack for all four cylinders
  • Preset gap: 0.044 in, no adjustment needed
  • Center electrode: 0.6 mm fine-wire iridium with a taper-cut nickel ground
  • Rated service life: 40,000–60,000 miles, the shortest figure on this list

Iridium IX is NGK’s aftermarket performance line, not its OE line, and that difference matters more than the name suggests. The 0.6 mm fine-wire center needs less voltage to jump the gap, which is what sharpens throttle response and cold starts. The ground electrode is taper-cut nickel rather than platinum-tipped, and that is where the mileage goes.

So this is a plug you choose knowingly. If you like how the RAV4 drives just after a tune-up and do not mind doing it again in a few years, Iridium IX gives you that for less money than the long-life sets. If you would rather fit plugs once, the Laser Iridium or Iridium Long Life options are the same brand quality with two to three times the interval.

Pros
  • 0.6 mm fine-wire iridium tip fires on less voltage, which shows up most at cold start
  • Costs less than the long-life NGK sets while using the same iridium center material
  • Preset 0.044 in gap, listed for the 2.5L L4 from 2009 to 2018
  • Damage-tolerant electrode design limits gap growth between changes
Cons
  • Rated at 40,000–60,000 miles, roughly a third of Toyota’s 120,000-mile plug interval
  • Nickel ground electrode wears faster than the platinum pad on the OE-style plugs
Sentiment Analysis Chart
Best for: Drivers who enjoy the feel of fresh plugs and accept a shorter interval to get it.
Skip it if: You want to fit plugs once and forget them.
Check first: Note the mileage you fit them at. By Toyota’s 120,000-mile service point you will be on your second or third set of these.
See today’s price, delivery date and return policy on Amazon.

6. DENSO Iridium Power

Best for spirited driving
DENSO Iridium Power (4-Pack)

Bottom line: DENSO’s performance plug — a 0.4 mm center electrode with a U-groove ground — built around spark quality rather than service life.

  • Fitment: Toyota RAV4 2.5L L4, 2009–2017, genuine DENSO parts
  • Preset gap: 0.044 in, install as it comes
  • Center electrode: 0.4 mm iridium alloy (90% Ir) with a tapered-cut U-groove ground
  • Rated service life: 40,000–60,000 miles, well short of DENSO’s long-life range

0.4 mm is the smallest center electrode DENSO makes, and the U-groove in the ground strap lets the flame kernel grow before the metal quenches it. On paper that makes this the most ignition-focused plug in the roundup, and it is the one to pick if you like the 2.5L to answer quickly when you ask it to.

The catch is the other half of the spec sheet. DENSO separates Iridium Power from its long-life iridium range by a wide margin and expects the performance plug to be changed far sooner. RAV4 owners put it more plainly: it is the cheaper DENSO plug that does not last as long as the factory one.

What owners say
Owners like: crisp throttle response and easy starts straight after fitting — it behaves the way a performance plug is meant to.
Common complaint: it is not a long-life plug, and owners on RAV4 forums warn that it wears out well before the factory-fitted DENSO does.
Pros
  • 0.4 mm iridium center, the smallest DENSO builds, so less of the spark is shrouded
  • Tapered U-groove ground lets the flame kernel grow before metal quenches it
  • Genuine DENSO parts, listed as a direct replacement for the 2.5L L4
  • Preset 0.044 in gap across a matched four-pack
Cons
  • Rated at 40,000–60,000 miles — a performance plug, not a long-life one
  • Costs more than the OE-number plugs while lasting a fraction as long
Sentiment Analysis Chart
Best for: Owners who want the sharpest spark on a stock 2.5L and accept changing plugs more often.
Skip it if: You measure plugs by cost per mile.
Check first: Do not confuse this with DENSO’s Iridium Long Life range, which is the family Toyota fits. Same brand, very different interval.
See today’s price, delivery date and return policy on Amazon.

7. DENSO Iridium Long Life

Closest to the factory plug
DENSO Iridium Long Life (4-Pack)

Bottom line: This is the line Toyota fits on the 2.5L. The SK16HR11 in your engine right now is a DENSO Iridium Long Life plug, sold at the dealer as 90919-01233.

  • Fitment: Toyota RAV4 2.5L L4, 2009–2017, DENSO is the OE supplier for this engine
  • Preset gap: 0.044 in as catalogued; the OE SK16HR11 ships at 1.1 mm
  • Center electrode: 0.4 mm iridium alloy (90% Ir) with a platinum ground strap
  • Rated service life: up to 120,000 miles, matching Toyota’s own plug service point

If you want back what came out of the engine, this is it. DENSO’s Iridium Long Life range is what Toyota specified for the 2AR-FE — the same family the parts counter sells as SK16HR11. The platinum pad on the ground strap is what separates it from DENSO’s performance plugs: it is the part that stops the gap opening up over six figures of mileage.

There is no extra power in it, and that is the point. It restores the ignition side of a 2015 RAV4 to exactly how Toyota set it up, with an interval long enough that most owners will fit one set and sell the car before the next one is due.

What owners say
Owners like: the mileage. RAV4 owners pulling the factory plugs at around 95,000 and 115,000 miles report they still looked serviceable coming out.
Common complaint: the price against unbranded packs carrying the same SK16HR11 number, which owners outside the US flag most often.
Pros
  • The line Toyota fits on the 2AR-FE, so reach, heat range and fit are not a guess
  • 0.4 mm iridium center with a platinum ground strap, built to hold its gap into six figures
  • Rated up to 120,000 miles, matching Toyota’s 120,000-mile plug service point
  • Genuine DENSO parts rather than an unbranded copy of the same number
Cons
  • Costs more than the unbranded packs carrying the same SK16HR11 number
  • No gain over stock — it returns the engine to factory, nothing beyond that
Sentiment Analysis Chart
Best for: Anyone who wants the factory plug, from the company that made it, fitted once.
Skip it if: You want a sharper spark for spirited driving rather than a like-for-like replacement.
Check first: Read the old plugs as you pull them. If they are stamped SK16HR11, this is the same family going back in.
See today’s price, delivery date and return policy on Amazon.

DENSO Iridium TT vs SHUJI SK16HR11: Is the Upgrade Worth It?

Both drop straight into a 2015 RAV4 2.5L. One is a newer DENSO design with published testing behind it; the other is the factory specification from a maker with no track record. The gap between them is information, not fitment.

  • Electrode design: the Iridium TT puts 0.4 mm of iridium and 0.7 mm of platinum in the flame path; the SK16HR11 pattern is the older single fine-wire design Toyota fitted.
  • Gap out of the box: the TT arrives at 0.040 in, inside Toyota’s 1.0–1.1 mm range. The SHUJI pack publishes no gap, so check all four before fitting.
  • What stands behind it: DENSO publishes specs, testing beyond 100,000 miles and a 12-month warranty. SHUJI offers a one-year warranty and the part number.
  • Who each suits: pay up for the TT if you are keeping the RAV4 and want the newer design; take the SHUJI if the job needs doing now for as little as possible.
Best overall
DENSO Iridium TT
Get it if: you want the strongest cold-start spark and one plug change rather than two.
Best value
SHUJI SK16HR11
Get it if: you want factory fitment today and will inspect the plugs before they go in.

[Amazon Products Picked for You]

Which Spark Plugs Should You Buy?

How We Chose

  • Fitment first: every plug is catalogued for the 2.5L L4 (2AR-FE) and cross-checked against Toyota’s own part number, SK16HR11 / 90919-01233.
  • Gap against factory spec: Toyota calls for 1.0–1.1 mm (0.039–0.043 in) on a new plug, so preset gaps were checked rather than assumed.
  • Published service life, not marketing life: intervals come from manufacturer and OE-recommendation data, and are marked as unpublished where no figure exists.
  • Construction from primary sources: electrode materials and dimensions come from manufacturer spec data and product pages, not from blog summaries.
  • Safety: each brand was checked against NHTSA equipment recalls and manufacturer notices. No spark plug recall affects any pick on this list.
  • Owner reports: wear and durability trends were taken from RAV4 and Toyota owner forums, where people post what the plugs looked like coming out.

DENSO Iridium TT vs NGK Laser Iridium vs the OE-Style SK16HR11

These three cover the way most 2015 RAV4 owners actually decide. The DENSO Iridium TT is the newer electrode design and the tightest factory-correct gap. The NGK Laser Iridium is the OE-equivalent with the longest published interval, 120,000 miles. The SK16HR11 route — branded as DENSO Iridium Long Life, or unbranded from SHUJI — is simply what Toyota fitted.

Choose on how long you are keeping the car. Selling within a year or two, the OE-number plug is all the engine needs. Keeping it to 200,000 miles, the twin-tip or the 120,000-mile OE-equivalent buy you one plug change instead of two, and both are far less work than doing this job twice.

Customer Favorites Chart

How to Choose Spark Plugs for a 2015 RAV4

Start with the part number, not the brand

The 2015 RAV4 2.5L runs the 2AR-FE, and Toyota specifies DENSO SK16HR11, sold under Toyota number 90919-01233. Any plug you buy should either carry that service number or be catalogued by its maker for the 2.5L L4. Thread size, reach and heat range all follow from that, and none of them are things you can eyeball. If in doubt, the DENSO Iridium Long Life is the same family as the original.

Match the gap to Toyota’s spec, and then leave it alone

Toyota’s figure for a new plug is 1.0–1.1 mm, which is 0.039–0.043 in, with 1.3 mm the limit on a used plug. Plugs catalogued for this engine arrive preset between 0.040 in and 0.044 in, so all of them are in or beside that window out of the box. Toyota’s own instruction is not to adjust the gap on iridium-tipped plugs, because prising the ground strap risks the fine center wire. Buy preset and fit them as they come.

Choose a service life, not a material

Everything on this list is iridium or ruthenium, so the material tells you very little. The interval tells you everything. A long-life plug is rated up to 120,000 miles, which matches Toyota’s service schedule; a performance plug like Iridium IX or Iridium Power is rated at 40,000–60,000. Both work perfectly on a 2.5L. One means doing this job once, the other means doing it two or three times.

Decide between genuine, OE-number and unbranded

Genuine DENSO or NGK gives you a spec sheet, a warranty and traceability. An unbranded pack carrying the OE service number gives you the specification for less. Counterfeit iridium plugs are a real problem in this part-number range, and both manufacturers publish visual guides — look for machined rather than laser-welded tips, cutting marks on the metal shell, uneven gaps across a set. Whatever you buy, inspect all four before they go in.

Mistakes to Avoid When Buying Spark Plugs for a 2015 RAV4

  • Buying by engine size alone: the 2.5L four and the older 3.5L V6 take different plugs, so check the engine code, not just the badge.
  • Re-gapping iridium plugs: Toyota tells owners not to. Buy the correct preset gap instead of bending a fine-wire tip.
  • Adding anti-seize by habit: NGK advises against it and says to cut torque by about 30% if you use it anyway; DENSO gives similar guidance. Anti-seize changes the reading and invites over-tightening.
  • Treating a performance plug as a long-life plug: Iridium IX and Iridium Power are rated for a fraction of the mileage the OE-style plugs are.
  • Replacing only the misfiring cylinder: plugs wear as a set; mixing a new plug with three worn ones just moves the problem.

FAQs

Which spark plug type works best for the 2015 Toyota RAV4 2.5L?

Iridium, because that is what the engine was built around. Toyota fits the DENSO SK16HR11, an iridium long-life plug, as 90919-01233. Ruthenium is the newer alternative and works fine here. Whichever you choose, confirm the plug is catalogued for the 2.5L L4 (2AR-FE) rather than the V6 or the hybrid drivetrain before you order.

How often should I replace spark plugs on the 2015 RAV4?

Toyota’s maintenance schedule puts spark plug replacement at 120,000 miles or 144 months. Your owner’s manual is the deciding source. Change them sooner if you get a rough idle, hard cold starts, misfires, falling fuel economy, or an ignition-related check engine light — and remember that a performance plug rated for 40,000–60,000 miles is due long before the factory interval.

What is the factory spark plug gap for the 2015 RAV4 2.5L?

Toyota specifies 1.0–1.1 mm, or 0.039–0.043 in, for a new plug, with 1.3 mm as the maximum on a used one. Plugs sold for this engine come preset within or just above that range, typically 0.040 in or 0.044 in. Toyota’s instruction is not to adjust the gap on iridium plugs, so buy the right preset and fit them as supplied.

Can I install these plugs myself?

Yes, with a plug socket, an extension and a torque wrench. Toyota’s figure for the 2.5L is 18 N-m, about 13 ft-lb — confirm it against your own manual. Do all four at once, keep dirt out of the wells while the coils are out, and check the coil boots for cracking or oil while you have access to them.

Should I use anti-seize on the spark plug threads?

Generally no. Modern plugs have plated threads, and anti-seize changes what the torque wrench reads, which leads to over-tightening in an aluminum head. NGK advises against it and says to reduce torque by around 30% if you use it anyway. DENSO gives comparable guidance. Fit them dry unless the plug maker says otherwise.

Can I use NGK plugs instead of DENSO in a RAV4?

Yes. DENSO is the factory supplier for the 2AR-FE, but NGK catalogues plugs for the same engine and owners run both without trouble. What matters is that the plug is listed for the 2.5L L4 and arrives at the right preset gap. Mixing brands within one set is the thing to avoid — fit four of the same part.

Will new spark plugs fix a misfire?

Sometimes. Worn plugs are the cheapest cause to rule out, and on high-mileage RAV4s they often are the cause. But a misfire code pointing at one cylinder can equally be a failing coil, an injector or a vacuum leak. If the misfire follows the coil when you swap it to another cylinder, the coil is the fault, not the plug.

What symptoms mean my spark plugs need replacing?

Rough idle, occasional misfires, hard cold starts, slower acceleration, falling fuel economy, or a misfire-related check engine light. On inspection, heavy carbon fouling, an electrode worn round rather than square, or a gap measurably wider than 1.1 mm all mean the set is done, whatever the odometer says.

Final Verdict

For a 2015 RAV4 that you intend to keep, the DENSO Iridium TT is the best combination of spark quality, a factory-correct gap and a rated life that lines up with Toyota’s own service point. It costs more than the OE-number plugs and is worth it if you would rather not do this job twice.

Best overall
DENSO Iridium TT
Twin-tip electrodes for a cleaner flame path, a 0.040 in gap that sits inside Toyota’s own 1.0–1.1 mm spec, and DENSO testing beyond 100,000 miles on a stock 2.5L.

Working to a tighter budget, the SHUJI SK16HR11 gets you the factory part number for the least money, and the NGK Ruthenium HX is the one to pick if you want the newest electrode technology on the market. Amazon prices on all of them move often, so check before you order.

Sharing Is Caring:
About the Author

Tony B. Hensel is the founder and lead author of GoMyReview.com, a trusted source for honest, hands-on product reviews and buyer’s guides. With over 10 years of experience in consumer research and a background in journalism, Tony combines clarity, accuracy, and real-world testing to help readers make smarter buying decisions.

Before starting GoMyReview.com, Tony worked as a freelance tech writer, contributing to online publications and staying current with trends in home gadgets and electronics. Today, he leads a small team of reviewers, ensuring every article is practical, unbiased, and easy to follow.

When he’s not writing, Tony enjoys home cooking, photography, and DIY projects. Based in the Midwest, he brings personal passion and professional integrity to every review—so readers can shop with confidence.

Leave a Comment